+ Reset
Font Size

TACA Silver Cup Award Luncheon

2021 TACA Silver Cup Award Luncheon

Honoring Donna Wilhelm and Sam Self

Tuesday, May 4, 2021 | 12:00 p.m.

Annette Strauss Square at the AT&T Performing Arts Center

Presented by The Eugene McDermott Foundation and J.P.Morgan

Jennifer Altabef and Mary McDermott Cook, Co-Chairs

Celebrated annually, the TACA Silver Cup Award recognizes two individuals for their outstanding volunteer leadership and contributions to the arts in North Texas. The TACA Silver Cup Award Luncheon serves as a unique opportunity to honor these individuals and gather the region’s civic and cultural leaders, patrons, and volunteers in support of distinguished leadership and volunteerism in the arts.

Tables & Virtual Tickets

Tables and virtual tickets to the Silver Cup Luncheon are no longer available. If you would like to make a donation honoring Donna Wilhelm and Sam Self, please click the button below:

Make a Gift

2021 Silver Cup Luncheon Raffle

You could WIN our “Day in the District” exclusive arts experience!

The winner of this once-in-a-lifetime prize package will go behind the scenes at several arts hot spots in the Dallas Arts District with up to 10 guests. Raffle ticket sales will end on May 4, 2021 at 12:30 p.m. CDT.

Raffle tickets are no longer being sold.

Donna Wilhelm

Author of A Life of My Own, A Memoir, Donna dedicates her book sale profits to build capacity of underserved women, girls and youth education. Her broad philanthropic mission empowers the arts and cultural connection, mental health and environmental conservation.

In her home community of Dallas, she is Life Trustee of KERA, North Texas Public Broadcasting and regional Dallas Theater Center; board member of The Arts Community Alliance (TACA), SMU Data Arts, The Nasher Sculpture Center and past trustee of DFW World Affairs Council. Nationally, she serves as Trustee of National Public Radio, and globally, she supports education-based initiatives in developing world countries.

Donna’s undergraduate education was at CUNY, Hunter College, and her postgrad work in jewelry design was at NY Parsons School of Design. She completed The Philanthropy Workshop (TPW) training, established by The Rockefeller Foundation and continuing alumni global workshops.
During the COVID pandemic, Donna finds solace through her arts training. Using photographs, she creates ink sketches and watercolor portraits to sustain her connection with friends and family members.

Her community awards include AFP2019 Outstanding Philanthropist, Meadows at the Winspear Honoree, TITAS Tom Adams Award, and Bruce Wood Dance Company’s The Bruce Award.

Sam Self

Sam is a stalwart supporter of the arts in Dallas and has been a key link between the business community and the arts. After a 34-year career at Texas Instruments, he retired in 2002 as Senior Vice President, corporate controller and chief accounting officer. Since, he has served in many capacities with Dallas arts organizations, including his role as President and Executive Director of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra during a transition period for the organization, in addition to currently serving as Chair of the DSO Foundation and DSO building committee member.

As Don Glendenning, who nominated Sam for the honor puts it, “It is difficult to imagine more impactful volunteer service to the Dallas arts. Sam has been a quiet but key figure in fostering corporate philanthropy for the arts through his tenure with TI and Chairmanship of the TI Foundation.” In addition to serving as Chair of the Texas Instruments Foundation, Self serves as Director of The Eugene McDermott Foundation, using both as a platform to continued promotion of the arts in Dallas.

In addition to his contributions to the DSO, Texas Instruments Foundation, and The Eugene McDermott Foundation, he has served on the board of directors and in committee roles with the United Way of Metropolitan Dallas and as a Court-Appointed Special Advocate (CASA).

Sam received an MBA degree from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, and a BS degree in business administration from The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina. A native of South Carolina, he and his wife Diana have blended family of four children and seven grandchildren.